AltScene
EliteSingles.com
EliteSingles.com

Knowing someone with ptsd, what is it like?

Knowing someone with ptsd, what is it like?

Acecolette Created Sep 4, 2024 13:36
30 Comments

Hello I have been talking to someone i am really like and they struggle with ptsd. Well, the past few days they havent been in their right mind and they think they are living in a false reality. Do people with ptsd often say that and say and think stuff that they dont really mean?

This topic has 30 comments

peripatetic

Sep 4, 2024 14:53

Hmmm I'm not an expert, but it could be a combination of flashbacks, anxiety, hypervigilance, fear & mistrust, creating such intrusive thoughts. Ptsd can come with dissociation. I think its possible, but perhaps you might be better researching in other places.

HeartbreakBeat

Sep 4, 2024 18:11

I'm not sure, but Drumpf sure falls into that category. 😉

No, seriously, I have no direct connection to someone with PTSD, but, from what I know, it can be devastating.

WalterLuigi

Sep 4, 2024 19:19

As someone with PTSD. It sounds like that person is dissociating to the point of derealization. Are they seeking proper treatment and support? PTSD is a lifelong problem that can be very tough for the person suffering it, as well as those around them. Even more so if they are not in treatment for it.

WalterLuigi

Sep 4, 2024 19:22

If they are in treatment or have been, I'd gently remind them to utilize their grounding and distress tolerance skills to help bring them out of their episode. It can be hard, very hard. But is doable. Sometimes it takes a gentle reminder as when we are distressed, our skills are harder to utilize and remember.

Acecolette

Sep 4, 2024 19:29

To be honest i dont know if they are in treatment for it or not. I hope you dont mind me asking walterluigi have you ever experienced derealization before.

WalterLuigi

Sep 4, 2024 19:34